N. Macedonia, Albania, Serbia to ease labour curbs

24 Maj 2023, 07:51Economy TEMA

(SeeNews) - EU candidate countries North Macedonia, Albania and Serbia will mutually ease labour restrictions for their ciizens as of July 1 as part of a new regional cooperation initiative called Open Balkan, the Serbian Chamber of Commerce said on Tuesday.

“It is important that we cooperate in the region, but also that we talk very actively with the EU in order to gain entry into the single European market as soon as possible and to enjoy the freedom that brings,” the president of the Serbian Chamber of Commerce, Marko Cadez, said in a statement.

In July 2021, North Macedonia, Albania and Serbia signed two Memoranda of Understanding (MoU) aimed at facilitating the movement of goods and people between the three countries.

The Open Balkan initiative is a regional cooperation programme comprising Serbia, North Macedonia and Albania for establishing a free economic zone of the three countries in which a total of 12 million people live.

Lini një Përgjigje